Please submit your name and email to access this content

    State of California


    California Stormwater Laws & Regulations

    The State of California operates under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) program under the authorization of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) manages the permitting and compliance of stormwater discharge with nine regional water quality control boards across the state.

    EXCERPT- Construction Stormwater Program

    Construction General Permit

    Construction General Permit Order 2009-0009-DWQ

    Dischargers whose projects disturb one (1) or more acres of soil or whose projects disturb less than one acre but are part of a larger common plan of development that in total disturbs one or more acres, are required to obtain coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of Storm Water Associated with Construction Activity Construction General Permit Order 2009-0009-DWQ. Construction activity subject to this permit includes clearing, grading and disturbances to the ground such as stockpiling, or excavation, but does not include regular maintenance activities performed to restore the original line, grade, or capacity of the facility.

    The Construction General Permit requires the development of a Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) by a certified Qualified SWPPP Developer (QSD). Many California Board of Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors and Geologists (CBPELSG) have self-certified. In addition the California Stormwater Quality Association (CASQA) has a lookup tool to find licensed QSDs: CASQA QSP/QSD Lookup Tool.

    Other Permits

    The Lahontan Regional Water Board (Regional Water Board 6SLT) has adopted its own permit to regulate storm water discharges from construction activity in the Lake Tahoe Hydrologic Unit. Owners of construction projects in this watershed must apply for the Regional Water Board permit rather than the statewide Construction General Permit. Construction projects within the Lake Tahoe Hydrologic Unit must comply with the Construction General NPDES Permit for the Lake Tahoe Basin (R6T-2011-0019) for remainder of 2016. Construction General NPDES Permit for the Lake Tahoe Basin (R6T -2016-0010, effective January 1, 2017).

    EXCERPT- California NPDES Wastewater Website

    WHERE DO I DISCHARGE?
    WHERE SHOULD I GET MY PERMIT?

    This map shows the nine Regional Water Board boundaries which are based on watersheds. Using the map, determine where your discharge will occur and contact the appropriate Regional Water Board NPDES Program Manager for that region. The contact information for the Regional Water Board NPDES Program Managers is shown in the table below.

    Regional Water Board NPDES Program Managers

    RB Contact Phone Numbers

    1

    Claudia Villacorta, Supervising WRCE
    Claudia.Villacorta@waterboards.ca.gov
    (707) 576-2069

    2

    Bill Johnson, EPM I
    Bill.Johnson@waterboards.ca.gov
    (510) 622-2354

    2

    Robert Schlipf, Senior WRCE
    Robert.Schlipf@waterboards.ca.gov
    (510) 622-2478

    3

    Phillip Hammer, Senior EG
    Phillip.Hammer@waterboards.ca.gov
    (805) 549-3882

    4

    Augustine Anijielo, Senior WRCE
    Augustine.Anijielo@waterboards.ca.gov
    (213) 576-6657

    4

    Jeong-Hee Lim, Senior WRCE
    Jeong-Hee.Lim@waterboards.ca.gov
    (213) 576-6616

    5

    Jim Marshall, Senior WRCE
    James.Marshall@waterboards.ca.gov
    (916) 464-4772

    6SLT

    Russell Norman, WRCE
    Russell.Norman@waterboards.ca.gov
    (530) 542-5467

    6V

    Jehiel Cass, Senior WRCE
    Jehiel.Cass@waterboards.ca.gov
    (760) 241-2434

    7

    Abdi Haile, Supervising EG
    Abdi.Haile@waterboards.ca.gov
    (760) 776-8939

    7

    Kai Dunn, Senior WRCE
    Kai.Dunn@waterboards.ca.gov
    (760) 776-8986

    8

    Milasol Gaslan, Senior WRCE
    Milasol.Gaslan@waterboards.ca.gov
    (951) 782-4419

    9

    David Barker, Supervising WRCE
    David.Barker@waterboards.ca.gov
    (619) 521-3007

    9

    Brandi Outwin-Beals, Senior WRCE
    Brandi.Outwin-Beals@waterboards.ca.gov
    (619) 521-5896

     

    Supplemental Documents:

    California Stormwater Website

    Stormwater Multiple Application and Report Tracking System (SMARTS) Login

    Storm Water Management in California Fact Sheet