State of North Dakota

North Dakota Stormwater Laws and Regulations

The state operates under the North Dakota General Permit for Storm Water Discharges from Small MS4s Program, regulated through the NPDES general permit with the North Dakota Department of Health. . There is no state level guidance manual, and the state has no numerical standards for post-construction, however the individual MS4s must meet a maintenance and good housekeeping requirement, and "develop, implement, and document procedures to ensure adequate long-term operation and maintenance of BMPs, including procedures to enforce the requirements for other parties to maintain BMPs as appropriate." Stormwater permits are required outside of MS4 areas in certain cases, including construction sites, and industrial facilities. There are no fees for state level stormwater permits, for more information email

Current MS4 permitees include the cities of: Bismarck, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Lincoln, Mandan, Minot, West Fargo, and Williston. MS4 regulated counties are Burleigh, Cass, Grand Forks, and Morton.


North Dakota General Permit for Stormwater Discharges

North Dakota NDPDES Stormwater MS4 General Permit - NDR04-0000

ND Department of Environmental Health Stormwater Permits Page